Once, at a women’s dinner the hostess put tiny chalkboards in hidden places in the front yard with our names on them and a Bible verse address written on each one.  You had to find your name before you could come inside and start eating.  Well, this was out in a remote area beside a river and a bit overgrown.  We all looked for a while, everyone found theirs, except me.  The hostess came out and kindly showed me where mine was…in a  tree!  That was over twenty years ago and I still have that chalkboard “Paula: Psalm 51:10.”  Marge, the hostess  suddenly died a few years later. She was a rock in my spiritual life.

Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. 

Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from Me.  Psalm 51:10 NIV 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

God, make a fresh start in me. Shape a Genesis week from the chaos of my life.  

Don’t throw me out with the trash, or fail to breath holiness in me.  Psalm 51:10 The Message 

Marge did not know what an impact this verse would have on me for twenty years, she just knew how to be a good hostess and ambassador for Christ.  This  was a Psalm of David when he was forlorn over committing adultery with Bathsheba.  This song makes me turn to God for right thinking.

I had not read the modern translations until recently….Shape a Genesis week from the chaos….reminds me to turn to order in a mixed up world.  Marge’s dinner favor remains “steadfast” in my life.

One woman, one act, many seasons.

Gratitude to God for not casting me out–throwing me aside… Placing me in the path of Holy friends.

A Fresh Start

A Fresh Start

