The weather breaks. Warm sunshine and buds on the trees in Chicagoland. Grilling no longer requires a puffy jacket.IMG_6229

Song of Solomon 2:11-12 KJV

For, lo, the winter is past, the rain is over and gone;

 The flowers appear on the earth; the time for singing has come….

This was a song that I sang in Sunday School as a child. Still comes to mind as I go out the door on days like this.

To celebrate the weather yesterday, I wore a yellow dress to church. Bright yellow. I was thinking daffodil. Even had short yellow blazer to match. The minister had a yellow stole around her neck. David wore a tie that had a brilliant yellow streak through it. Matching all around….”the time for singing has come.”

The words of Solomon were just humming through my head! I had a few duties during the service and was waiting on David in the narthex.

A lovely precocious blond preschooler girl came up to me—one of my favorite children in the church due to her expressiveness and said, “ Your dress looks like a rain slicker.”

I WENT FROM DAFFODIL TO PADDINGTON BEAR. Hmmmmm.

I think these words from Solomon are a better fit.
Harsh correction is better than the songs of a fool. Ecc 7:5

Don’t get puffed up, Paula.

Perhaps, I will switch to singing Justin Bieber’s song, “Yellow Raincoat” :

Guess I’ll put on my raincoat, my yellow raincoat
Baby, it’s keeping me dry
I put on my raincoat, my yellow raincoat
You know exactly why…

There is a chance of rain today…the time of singing has come!

 

 

