Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

img_1788

Chicago was beautiful this weekend.  Lights and people glowing.  An evening Christmas concert at Fourth Presbyterian Church in the heart of the magnificent mile was the exclamation point on a celebratory day.  

Walking in the brisk evening air, towards my daughter’s apartment, we pass an exclusive club–so much so that there are no markings or signs, just Bentleys and Aston Martins being valet parked and incredible pin-point white lights that decorate evergreens in the front of their stately art-deco building.  

I peer into the too-high windows–yes, I have to tip-toe on the curb at a nosey-neighbor angle—to get a good look into the beautiful gold/green fireplaced room that glows with just right elegant lighting.  I see “the help”–some beautiful young women–dressed in cherry red pill box hats–with white satin strapless “somethings” (I cannot see the bottoms) and the ‘something’ has a red sash.  I imagine it is short.  They have on red lipstick to match their hat and sash.  The two young women I see have perfectly coiffed hair and are lovely.  One young lady tugs on her strapless “something” –and looks out the window–she sees me.  I smile and imitate her tug.  She smiles.  We laugh.  

We are at least thirty yards apart.  I stand underneath a street lamp.  She is in the warmth of the fireplace.  I walk towards the apartment. The hat-topped girl turns toward her work.  

Jesus came for all people.  For those in the club.  For those who work in the club.  For those who walk by the club.

No exclusions.    

“Do not be afraid. I bring you good news of great joy that will be for all the people.  Today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you; he is the Messiah, the Lord.” Luke 2:10,11

–This club, of course, has boundaries based on wealth.  Only those who are so very wealthy are allowed to enter–or even be a guest.  

The chef, the waiter, the valet, the custodian are all invited to Christ’s banquet–even those on tip toes on the curb.  

Pray: May your glory shine through us Lord, in our actions.  Help me to include everyone in the celebration of your birth, because the good news is for all people.  

We thank you Lord for the opportunity to share the good news in our work–wherever that may be!  

**pray for all people in all circumstances!  Wealthy, the poor, the oppressed, the oppressor.  

