Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

 

Winter, even in the warmer climates, can be humdrum.  The lack of daylight hours and post holiday clean up (emotional and physical) can bring our days into a misty gray.  

img_8108

The famous Dunkin Donuts ad “time to make the donuts” can reflect our own lives.  Get up, get ready, go to work, come home, shuffle around, sleep, repeat.

 

Brother Lawrence, the 17th century Carmelite lay brother did not have the winter doldrums–he did not think his very routine life was a “time to make the donuts” rut:  his thoughts: — “work is not a hindrance (no obstacle) to prayer.  But an an avenue to presence to God.”

 

Brother Lawrence: “I make it my business to persevere in this Holy presence…which I may call an actual presence of God …secret conversation of the soul with God…causes me joy…so great…I am forced to moderate them and prevent their appearance to others.”

 

Perhaps this is a season for secret conversations of the soul…for utter joy!  Work can be an avenue.  Look for an opportunity to acknowledge God today as you work.  Look…hear…touch….and moderate your response!  

 

Avoid the donuts.  Stick to your new year’s diet. Sorry for the photo.

Commit your work to the Lord and your plans will be established. Proverbs 16:3

 

Pray: Father, I affirm that I obey Your Word by making an honest living with my head, heart and hands that I may be able to give to those in need.  In Your strength and according to your grace I provide for myself and my family.  May I express the joy in the day for your presence. 

Thank you for the grace to remain diligent in seeking knowledge and skill in areas in which I am inexperienced.  I ask You for wisdom and the ability to understand justice and fair dealing.  Thank you for making me successful today.  Amen

 

 

